County Armagh Ireland Facts

County Armagh Ireland facts tell us that it is located as one of the six counties that form Northern Ireland (uk) sitting within the province of Ulster.

It is home to many beautiful Ireland landscapes as well as the architecture found in many of its towns.

Some of its more famous sights include Slieve Gullion which is a mountain in the south of County Armagh and also the highest point in the County. There is also the famous Tayto Crisp factory and of course Armagh city has two cathedrals so lots to see if you want to check on nearby places to stay.

Fun Facts about Ireland:
County Armagh

County Armagh Ireland Facts:

  • Armagh is known as the Orchard County because of the number of apple orchards. 
  • Slieve Gullion is the highest point in the county at 573m. It is an extinct volcano with a lake at its summit.
  • The city of Armagh is the only city in the world which has two cathedrals, both dedicated to the same saint, Saint Patrick.
  • It is also one of the thirty-two traditional counties of Ireland, lying within the historical province of Ulster.
  • The smallest county in Northern Ireland is County Armagh, at 1,254 km square.
  • It borders the Irish Republic to the south, County Down to the east, County Tyrone and Lough Neagh to the north and north-west. 
  • Armagh is the spiritual capital of Ireland for 1,500 years and the seat of both Protestant and Catholic archbishops.
  • Armagh city was the capital of Ulster in earlier times.
  • West of Armagh town is Navan Hill fort, from where Ulster kings ruled for a millennium.
  • The Catholic Cathedral of St Patrick is in the Gothic style. Work on the building was halted during the Famine in the middle of the nineteenth century, not to be completed until 1873 thanks to fundraising and donations.
  • The Anglican cathedral also called St Patricks, is much older than its Catholic counterpart, being restored in 1765.

Top to County Armagh Ireland Facts

Return to Ireland Facts Home

Home to Uniquely northern Ireland