County Tyrone Ireland Facts

County Tyrone Ireland Facts tell us that it is one of the six counties of northern Ireland (uk).  It is also one of the thirty-two traditional counties of Ireland, lying within the province of Ulster.

Tyrone is the seventh largest of Ireland’s thirty-two counties. It is home to the Sperrin Mountains which is one of the largest uplands in Ireland and has been designated an area of outstanding natural beauty.

There is also the popular Ulster American Folk Park which looks at typical Irish homes in the 1600's and tells the story of emigration to America.

If you are visiting Ireland some more detail on sights in Tyrone are here and ideas on places to stay.

Fun Facts about Ireland:
County Tyrone

County Tyrone Ireland Facts:

  • Tyrone was the traditional stronghold of the various O'Neill clans and families, the strongest of the Gaelic Irish families in Ulster.
  • Tyrone is the largest county in Northern Ireland (uk).
  • It has a population approaching 170,000.
  • County Tyrone shares parts of its borders with two Republic of Ireland counties County Donegal to the west and Monaghan to the South.
  • Omagh is the county town of Tyrone.
  • Mount Sawel is the highest mountain in the Sperrins at 678m. 
  • The Nobel-winning poet Seamus Heaney grew up on the edge of the Sperrins and found words to suit their subtle splendor.
  • Gold has been found in the Sperrin Mountains. There is also no shortage of standing stones (about 1,000 have been counted), high crosses, dolmens, and hill forts.
  • The main towns in County Tyrone apart from Omagh include Augher, Castlederg, Cookstown, Coalisland Dungannon, Omagh, Strabane.
  • Omagh is said to owe its origins to an abbey founded in 792 AD, making it one of the oldest towns in Ireland.
  • The county of Tyrone is rich in prehistoric and Celtic remains and neolithic sites include stone circles.

Top to County Tyrone Ireland Facts

Return to Ireland Facts Home

Home to Uniquely northern Ireland